Chandler Police Honor Volunteers

On Wednesday, April 20th, the Chandler Police Department held its 16th Annual Volunteer Appreciation Banquet, to honor CPD volunteers for their service in 2010.

The Chandler Police Department and the Chandler community have benefited from the dedication and service demonstrated by the members of the Volunteers in Policing Program.  Over 650 members of our community have volunteered their time to work with us and serve as part of our organization. They have served with a sense of duty and focus that is admired and respected throughout the valley.

For 2010, we recognized three volunteers with a Special Recognition Award. This award is presented to volunteers who consistently exceed normal job requirements with at least one specific act of outstanding performance.  This may include a member proceeding with a pre-determined plan or program, which exemplifies the mission statement of the Chandler Police Department. Special Recognition Award recipients for 2010 were Joe Askins, Sarah Katusha, and Dale Kline.

We also recognized one volunteer with the Volunteer of the Year Award.  This award is presented to a volunteer for outstanding performance over a period of one year in achieving departmental goals and objectives through projects, programs, or situations requiring exceptional dedication. Feedback from volunteers and employees is used to recognize a volunteer for their dedication to the mission of the Chandler Police Department and the Volunteers In Policing program. This year’s Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Rea Dias.

To honor the dedication and the hours donated over the years, CPD presents the Copper, Silver, Gold and Lifetime Achievement Awards. Volunteers received these awards based on their hours of service to the Chandler Police Department Volunteer Program. These awards are given to volunteers for total hours of service from their inception into the program.

Bronze Recipients:  Bronze Awards are given to volunteers that have provided 1,000+ hours of service. The 2010 recipients were Richard Abbey, Harold Grosboll and Eileen Rubenstein.

Silver Recipients:  Silver Awards are given to volunteers that have provided 2,000+ hours of service. The 2010 recipients were Barbra Hedges, Michael Muller and William Brewer.

Gold Recipients:  Gold Awards are given to volunteers that have provided 4,000+ hours of service. There were no 2010 recipients.

Finally, the Life Time Achievement Award is awarded to volunteers that have provided 6,000+ hours of service and have made significant long-standing contributions to the Chandler Volunteers in Policing Program and the community we serve.  The 2010 recipients were Jack Bessler, Ken Hawkes and Dale Kline. Past recipients are Al Cote, Art Tucholski, and Carl White.

Lt to Rt – Lt. LaBerge, Jack Bessler, Art Tucholski, Al Cote, Chief Kiyler, Dale Kline, Ken Hawkes and Assistant Chief Lind

Photos were taken by Jim Carreno